Wholemeal Pumpkin and Blueberry Scones

I love scones. When I was young my parents often used to take my brother and I out for country drives on the weekend. These excursions always involved finding a cafe or tea room serving ‘Devonshire Tea’. Those fresh, warm scones spread with sweet jam and thick cream form such a vivid and comforting childhood memory. Unfortunately I’m not that great at making scones. They always come out tough and dry. People have told me that I give them too much ‘love’. It’s true; I do like to mix things thoroughly. Anyway I had some butternut pumpkin from my mother in law’s garden and I just had a hankering for scones, so I thought PUMPKIN SCONES! This recipe was a bit of an experiment, but I was quite pleased with how they turned out. Someone more skilled at creating light, fluffy scones could probably do an even better job with the recipe below. I adapted the recipe from this one on the Witches Kitchen website.

pan1Ingredients (makes 12 scones)

  • 3/4 cup roasted pumpkin
  • 3 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup frozen or fresh blueberries
  • 1 cup plain wholemeal flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsp coconut oil
I forgot to take a picture of the pumpkin before I started peeling it! Any pumpkin left over after roasting can be frozen for future baking.

I forgot to take a picture of the pumpkin before I started peeling it! Any pumpkin left over after roasting can be frozen for future baking.

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 200C
  • Grease and line a small baking dish with baking paper
  • Whizz together flour, baking powder and cinnamon in food processor
  • Add coconut oil to food processor and pulse a couple of times until incorporated
  • Stir brown sugar through mashed roasted pumpkin
  • Mix all ingredients together (including blueberries) in a large bowl until just combined

mix

  • Turn onto a floured board and knead very briefly
  • Flatten and squeeze into a square or rectangle about 3cm thick
  • Form scones by cutting into 12 squares with a large bread knife (I know traditionally scones should be round, but I did it this way to minimize the ‘love’ I was giving the dough!)
  • Place scones in lined baking dish fairly close together

cut

  • Sprinkle over some pumpkin seeds
  • Bake for 15-20 mins

baked

  • Eat warm or cool with butter or jam and cream

bite

4 thoughts on “Wholemeal Pumpkin and Blueberry Scones

  1. Pumpkin and blueberry sounds like a lovely combination; I should try them next time I’m making scones. Thanks for giving me a great idea!

Leave a Reply

