Miso soup with veggies and soba noodles

soup

This recipe has become a weekly favourite for my husband and I. We each have a massive salad bowl full of the soup–I couldn’t find any soup bowls big enough for all the ingredients. The kids aren’t so convinced yet, but they’re coming around. I always feel like I’ve smashed my daily veggie target once I’ve eaten this and therefore can afford to indulge in some chocolate.

ingredients

Ingredients

Lots of veggies. Whatever goes well in a stir-fry will be great for this.

Per person/enormous bowl I typically use:

– one spring onion (chopped)

–  1/3 of a large carrot (cut into little rectangles– I’m sure there is a word for them, but it escapes me right now)

–  4-6 broccoli florets

– 1/4 red capsicum (cut into little rectangles like the carrots)

– handful of baby spinach leaves

– handful of basil leaves

– 4-6 snow peas (cut in half)

– small handful of dried shitake mushrooms that have been soaked in hot water to rehydrate

– 1 portion of soba noodles (cooked and then rinsed in cool water). They usually come in packets which are divided into 3 or 4 portions.

– 1/4 dried nori seaweed sheet (cut roughly)

– a little bit of grated fresh ginger (if you have some handy)

– 3-4 instant miso soup sachets

– tofu/ chicken/ beef (whatever source of protein you prefer, but make sure you cook the meat first)

– a few drops of sesame oil for serving

–  hot water (boiled in your kettle)

Before adding hot water

Before adding hot water

Directions

– assemble and prepare all your ingredients

– divide ingredients between required number of bowls

– pour hot water over to just cover ingredients

– stir a little to mix the instant miso soup through

– sprinkle a few drops of sesame oil over and add some soy sauce if you want it saltier

– enjoy with chopsticks and imagine you are in a tiny noodle shop, under a railway bridge somewhere in Tokyo

5 thoughts on “Miso soup with veggies and soba noodles

  1. I love these little miso soup sachets and make a very similar type of soup to you. Sometimes though for an afternoon snack I will make a super simple soup in a cup with one of the sachets, some boiling water and a small amount of the somen noodles that cook in 2 minutes

  2. I have to try this! I have attempted a plain miso soup made from the paste and it just didn’t have the same deliciousness as the soup I have eaten out (I was missing the dashi though – that might have been the problem!!)

    • I’ve tried the paste too and found the sachets tastier, although it is probably more authentic and healthier to make your own dashi and use the paste. My excuse is that this is a quick meal that I make after work 🙂

Leave a Reply

