James Street Bakery– Geelong

James street bakery

I think my home town is special. I wasn’t born or raised in Geelong, but my husband and I chose to move our family here. One of my favourite things is to find fantastic places to eat or shop for food and Geelong does not disappoint.

sandwich board2

One of my favourite places is the wonderful James Street Bakery and Cafe. Nestled in an alley in central Geelong, they serve breakfast, lunch and a variety of baked treats along with Genovese coffee. Their sourdough bread selection is small, but delicious.

coffee2

The interior is cosy and inviting. The abundance of wood and the red carpet gives it a warm feel, reminiscent of a Parisian boulangerie.

One Sunday a month they hold a popular high-tea, which must be booked in advance. A friend and I were lucky enough to attend a couple of months ago. I enjoyed trying a range of their baked goods, as I usually can’t go past their macarons.

high tea

Their macarons are flawless. The perfectly crisp shell gives way to a chewy centre and creamy filling. I’ve tried several macarons from different places around Melbourne and none of them come close. I’m not saying better, or even equivalent macarons don’t exist, just that I’m yet to find them.

Lime and Ginger and Salted Caramel macarons

Lime and Ginger and Salted Caramel macarons

If you happen to be in Geelong, and you intend to indulge, head straight to the James Street Bakery and Cafe and make those extra kilojoules special.

James Street Bakery Cafe

10 James St, Geelong VIC 3220, Australia

One thought on “James Street Bakery– Geelong

  1. Pingback: Making gingerbread shapes with my kids | Good Food by Melissa

Leave a Reply

