Vegan Ice cream recipe list from Buzzfeed

Vegan Ice-Cream Recipes

Ready to eat

Ready to eat

We’re not vegan in my house, but my son’s eczema seems a lot better when we reduce the dairy in his diet (and my tummy feels better too– I think I have some of those Mediterranean lactose intolerance genes, courtesy of my Maltese mother). So I’m always on the lookout for dairy-free treats. Just this week I put the ice-cream maker in the freezer ready for the warmer weather. In the past I’ve made ice cream from frozen bananas and cacao powder–and my son loved it.

Ice cream base and raspberry swirl

Ice cream base and raspberry swirl

I tried number 28 on the list. Vegan Blueberry crumble ice cream. Although I used raspberries instead of blueberries and marsala instead of the vodka and the rum. I also didn’t do the crumble bit and I didn’t add extra sugar to the raspberries.

The following day, after being in the freezer all night, the ice cream was frozen solid. I blame my cheap ice cream maker.

Ice cream after coming out of the ice cream machine. Ready for the freezer

Ice cream after coming out of the ice cream machine. Ready for the freezer

I should really invest in a better one! So I had to let it thaw a bit and throw it in the food processor–which means the swirl effect was ruined. Nevermind.

The finished product actually turned out creamier than other vegan ice cream I’ve made–probably due to the oats. I did find the slight oaty taste a little strange in an ice

cream, but the family loved it.

Ice cream after being processed in my Thermochef

Ice cream after being processed in my Thermochef

Leave a Reply

